The Only Online Marketing Metric That Matters (and how to improve it)

Online marketing has exploded. Clicks. Links. Visits. Impressions. Rankings. Bounce rates. We now have so many ways of measuring “success.” But what is the true measure of a successful marketing campaign?

Sales!

Sales are the only thing that matters. It doesn’t matter how much traffic you get, how many backlinks you’ve accumulated or if your uncle’s friend found your site the other day on Google.

At the end of the day, you have to step back and see if any of your online efforts worked, or if it was all just a big waste of time and energy.

Sound harsh? Well it’s the truth, sorry.

Listen. Don’t get burned by the buzzwords of today’s online marketing world. Don’t pretend a failure isn’t a failure just because you have a low bounce rate.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m in the online marketing business and I use all these new fangled metrics to improve the online performance of clients. But I never lose sight of what’s really important. Sales! If what I’m doing isn’t bringing my client more money, I am a failure. And the same goes for you.

So What’s Your Point?

That’s enough ranting. You’re probably wondering what the point of this post is. Well aside from bringing awareness to the insignificance of online marketing “success” metrics, I also wanted to direct you to the one thing that matters most when it comes to increasing sales.

Words.

If you’ve seen my philosophy page, you probably saw that coming. Full discloser: I am totally biased and think copywriting is the single most important skill in advertising. But there is good reason for that!

(Again, if you’ve seen my philosophy page, I apologize for the redundancy). Put yourself in the customer’s shoes. You find a store in a perfect location and tons of people are walking in and out. You walk in to see a beautiful establishment. Just then, a sales guy walks up to you and starts talking about what they sell.

What if everything he said was hard to understand, and he didn’t really convince you of the benefits of their products?

Would you buy? Probably not.

You can do everything you can to get to the top of Google, increase traffic, and blah blah blah. But if you don’t deliver the right words that speak to the right people, you’re dead in the water.

But how do I find the right words?

Great question. And that is essentially why I started this blog. I’m gonna show you. Why? Because I love this stuff. It’s my passion. I will update this blog with everything you need to know to write great copy that increases the only important metric – sales!

Oh and P.S.

If you ever decide that you hate writing and would rather hire someone to do it – I’m available! Like I said, it’s what I do. So don’t be afraid to contact me with whatever kind of project you need…thanks!

Paul Keep

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in copywriting, success metrics

Leave a Reply

Paul B. Keep

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive awesome and easy writing tips.

Archives
Categories
